GOING OUT……STAYING IN

DSC02638 (Small) (2)GOING: Dawns the last day of my presenting OTHERWISE: Talking Women. Shew! Well it’s been a journey, I can say. In some ways I still feel like the stand in – hired 13 ½ years ago until they found ‘someone else to take over’. But hey, I guess I just got lucky because it’s been an EDUCATION I could never have paid for. Imagine, in all those years, something like 3,500 hours and over 17,500 or so interviews with South Africa’s women – how could I not learn encyclopaedic amounts! So a great big THANK YOU to each and every one of the ‘guests’ as we call them, for your time and insight and for sharing what you do, think and feel with me and the nation. It’s been a privilege and an honour to listen. It’s also been a roller coaster, I won’t pretend there haven’t been ups and downs. A really low point was being cut to half an hour and relegated to the evening. But you know, it’s a woman’s show – and women bounce back. And the upsides so outweigh any of the down, I can only say It’s Been A Pleasure!

Today new presenter SHADO TWALA will be joining me at the mic so we can do a sort of Hello and Goodbye show. To be honest I’m sort of dreading it, in case people are nice to me – I may just turn a bit jelly – despite the fact that although I’ll miss it, I’m not really sad to be leaving (time to breathe into new life ahead – see below) and that I’m THRILLED that someone of Shado’s calibre will be taking over, what I feel, to be a very precious platform for women – whose voices may otherwise (sorry!) not be heard. A show that began way back in 1952 nog – how’s that for history! (The book WOMAN TODAY A Celebration 50 years of South African women (Kwela) came out in 2003)

THANK YOU: There is never enough time or space to do justice to all those who made it possible over the years. But especially to Hilary Reynolds who gave me the entrée by asking me first for an interview, then to do some interviews for what was then WOMAN TODAY back in 1993 (the part-time years came first), to Linda Delport and John Orr who produced with such tenderness and care, to Nigel Vermaas for keeping it real with humour, to Talia Sanhewe who brought fresh new light, to Kim Winter who has brought even more fresh light, to all the happy techies who gave me red lights, to the Big Boys and Girls at HQ in Auckland Park, and to present producer Hazel Makuzeni (partner with the OTHERWISE Khayelitsha Dream Girls) who will be keeping the show on the road….blessings and thank yooooooo guys! Xxx

STAYING: I should point out though that I am not flying the SAfm nest entirely. I will still be presenting THE ENVIRO-SHOW (Thursdays 21.00-22.00) and SAfm LITERATURE (Sundays 13.00-16.00) – with love! And hopefully doing more of what I absolutely love best, making radio documentaries, telling stories with words and sounds.

NEXT: I’m looking forward to writing more, so if you need anything that you think I could do, let me know. See some of what I’ve written elsewhere on this blog (which has been sorely neglected and I look forward to updating soon!). I also give media training, do voice overs and give talks, so do be in touch if I can be of service.

WOMAN ZONE: This is the big one. It’s been a long time in the germination as an idea (about 13 ½ years!), but now it’s beginning to bud. To cut to the chase, WOMAN ZONE is designed to bring the women of Cape Town, from all different communities, together. To tell and share their stories, to get to know one another better and to celebrate the achievements, past and present, of women in the Mother City. There will be a Women’s Library, Women’s Walks, and Talks, and more as things develop. Our base is The District Six Homecoming Centre in Buitenkant St and our Facebook page is Woman Zone CT, so stay in touch if you’d like to know more. We will be launching with a project called 13 WOMEN and we have been shortlisted as a World Design Capital 2014 project.

So that’s it folks. Thanks for reading this far – and for listening.

Stay tuned! xxx

6 responses to “GOING OUT……STAYING IN

  1. Diana Young 31/07/2013 at 12:41 pm

    Hello Nancy. I am not the talk-on-air kind but I cannot let you vanish from Otherwise without telling you how much pleasure, stimulation and insight you have delivered to me over the years. Like many of your callers, I arranged my day so that I could listen to you at lunch time and have exhorted many of my friends/acquaintenance to do likewise because nowhere else do I find such professionalism, such warmth and gentle kindness as you guided so many remarkable people (yes, mostly women) through the process of disclosing their often extra-ordinary stories. In addition you have done an irreplaceable service to your listeners (dare I say the country as a whole?) in offering knowledge of the truly amazing deeds of women of whom we would otherwise never hear. Your programme always left me with a sense of Wow and optimism – because it is easy in South Africa at present to be overwhelmed by the challenges. Your guests often inspired me and frequently reminded me that Good Things are happening too. Finally, I travel a great deal and often listen to the BBC’s Radio 4 whenever I can and you need to know you are up there with the best of the best when it comes to interviewing skills.
    You clearly have a fine replacement in Shado but she has huge shoes to fill. May your increased leisure briing you joy and I shall continue to follow your eco and book programmes.

    • NancyVRichards 31/07/2013 at 2:47 pm

      Thank you Diana – people have been so very kind, which has made it a little bit tougher than I htought – but you know

      • NancyVRichards 31/07/2013 at 2:49 pm

        oops – just wanted to say thank you Diana – but the privelege has been all mine. I hope you enjoy Shado, I’ feel quite sure she’s going to do a great job! nxx

    • NancyVRichards 31/07/2013 at 6:56 pm

      Gosh Diana, well I finally managed to read your whole message instead of just the first two lines as it kept coming, so I really just wanted to thank you for your extraordinarily kind words. It does make me feel like it’s all been worth it after all. Thanks again, I feel humbled nxx

  2. liz mcgregor 31/07/2013 at 2:29 pm

    Nancy, I will miss you! Otherwise was my favourite SAFM programme. Glad you are not leaving entirely though! all the best, Liz McGregor

    • NancyVRichards 31/07/2013 at 2:44 pm

      Ahh, thank you so much Liz – well, it’s really been my pleasure – and agreat privelege – and I’m SURe you’ll enjoy listening to Shado – stay tuned! And if you’re on facebook please vist, and like, our WOMAN ZONE CT page – nxx

Leave a Reply

